22 Votes

Football EC: Who became European Champion in the own Country?

Info by NewShower | Last update on 2024-07-15 | Created on 2018-10-01

After about 30% of all football World Cups the host has also been world champion at the end of the tournament. But what about the European Football Championship? Do the hosts have a greater chance of winning the title here as well?

So far, there have been three countries that have become European football champions as hosts.

  • 1964: Spain
  • 1968: Italy
  • 1984: France

After all, these are three of 17 tournaments held so far. Although these are only about 20% of the cases, in contrast to the World Championships, the home advantage is nevertheless clearly evident.

There was a peculiarity at the EM 2020 (held in 2021 due to the corona pandemic). This European Championship was played in 11 countries all over Europe, so there was no clear "home advantage" at this European Championship. However, England has most home games at this EC and made it to the finals. England was lucky like no other team to be able to play all group matches as well as the round of 16, the semi-finals and the final in London. In the end, England made the second place after a penalty shoot-out.

You will find the winners of the other years in the list of all European football champions and runners-up.


About the Author

AvatarThe author has not added a profile short description yet.
Show Profile


Related Topics

World Cup Host Countries

Info | 0 Comments

Important Note

Please note: The contributions published on askingbox.com are contributions of users and should not substitute professional advice. They are not verified by independents and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of askingbox.com. Learn more.


Ask your own question or write your own article on askingbox.com. That’s how it’s done.